leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Glasgow Warriors vs Leinster Rugby
Guinness Pro14 Rainbow Cup
Scotstoun, Glasgow
Friday, 4th June 2021, 20:15

TV: Live: Eir Sports

Provincial rugby in June? Doesn't quite feel right, does it?

Leinster's failure to earn a four try bonus point against Ulster pretty much scuppered any chance of them making the final of the Rainbow Cup. At this stage we may as well sit back and relax and hope Benetton win a fifth game in a row to become unlikely finalists. That would just annoy Munster so much!

Leinster get to see the season out with a home game next week in the RDS against the Dragons when they'll at least have some fans back. First up is a trip to Glasgow to face a Warriors team who are in contention for the final themselves with 15 points from 20 from their four games.

It's a strong Glasgow team with the internationals like Scott Cummings, Ryan Wilson and Matt Fagerson up front and Cole Forbes, Sam Johnson and Kyle Steyn in the backs. Adam Hastings makes his final home appearance at full back before leaving for Gloucester in the summer (hang on, it's already summer - this is confusing).

For Leinster there are four changes each to the backs and the forwards. Hugo Keenan, Tommy O'Brien, Rory O'Loughlin and Jimmy O'Brien come into the backs and Ed Byrne, Ronan Kelleher, Michael Bent and Ross Molony come to start in the pack.

While technically this is still a competitive game for Leinster, they will go through the motions and it could be a fun game with plenty of tries at least.

Team Lineups

Glasgow Warriors

Leinster Rugby
Teams Adam Hastings 15 Hugo Keenan
Kyle Steyn 14 Tommy O'Brien
Nick Grigg 13 Garry Ringrose
Sam Johnson 12 Rory O'Loughlin
Cole Forbes 11 Jimmy O'Brien
Ross Thompson 10 Ross Byrne
George Horne 9 Luke McGrath (C)

Aki Seiuli 1 Ed Byrne
Fraser Brown 2 Ronan Kelleher
Enrique Pieretto 3 Michael Bent
Rob Harley 4 Ross Molony
Scott Cummings 5 James Ryan
Ryan Wilson 6 Josh Murphy
Rory Darge 7 Josh van der Flier
Matt Fagerson 8 Caelan Doris

Replacements George Turner 16 Dan Sheehan
Tom Lambert 17 Peter Dooley
D'arcy Rae 18 Andrew Porter
Kiran McDonald 19 Ryan Baird
Thomas Gordon20 Scott Penny
Sean Kennedy 21 Rowan Osborne
Stafford McDowall 22 Jordan Larmour
Niko Matawalu 23 Cian Kelleher

Not Considered
due to Injury
Alex Allan,
Hamish Bain,
Jamie Dobie,
Chris Fusaro,
TJ Ioane,
Huw Jones,
Ian Keatley,
Oli Kebble,
Tommy Seymour

Conor O'Brien,
Dan Leavy,
Adam Byrne,
Max Deegan,
Jamison Gibson-Park,
Jack Dunne,
Jonathan Sexton,
Will Connors,
Harry Byrne,
Tom Clarkson
Officials Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU)

by Jim O'Connor, © 2021-06-03